Refined Topic

When I first embarked on project three I was focusing on the fashion industry as a whole, looking at both, the consequences that the fashion industry has on the environment, as well as the factory workers in developing countries. After gathering and sorting through my research and resources I have decided to narrow down my topic idea so that it is more specific. My refined topic for assessment three is focusing on the negative effects the fashion industry has on factory workers in developing countries. I will then also look into changes society can make to improve and benefit the lives of the factory/production workers in developing countries. Examples that I will refer to when discussing the effects the fashion industry has on its factory workers include the Rana Plaza tragedy and the current, ’’fast fashion’’, trend. I will also refer to visual activism examples which represent society activating for change to improve the lives of the factory workers. Visual activism examples that I will refer to include, The 2 Euro T-Shirt campaign, and Fashion Revolutions campaign, Show Your Label.

 

Featured Image:

Fig. 1. Fashion revolution. Show Your Label. 2016. Photographs. Fashionrevolution.org.

Leave a Reply

